Aviation Investigation A15O0188

Collision with terrain

The occurrence

On 9 November 2015, a Cessna 182H departed the Parry Sound municipal airport for a night flight to Tillsonburg, Ontario. Just after takeoff from Runway 35, the aircraft turned left towards Tillsonburg. The aircraft was reported crashing in the woods near highway 400, west of the airport. The aircraft had clipped trees in a nose-down attitude with a significant angle of bank, impacting the ground on a rocky downward slope. The two occupants were fatally injured; a post-impact fire destroyed most of the aircraft.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Mario Boulet

Mario Boulet has over 30 years of civil aviation experience. He joined the TSB in 2015 and is now a Regional Senior Investigator based out of Dorval, Quebec.

Before joining the TSB, Mr. Boulet worked during 8 years for Transport Canada as a civil aviation safety inspector after a career in the private sector for various approved maintenance organizations, aircraft manufacturers and airlines where he occupied positions from aircraft maintenance engineer to Person Responsible for Maintenance (PRM), including Minister Delegate for a major aircraft manufacturer.

Since 2006, Mr. Boulet also became an expert in the manufacturing and operation of Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS).

Mr. Boulet holds an aircraft maintenance engineer license from Transport Canada and a private pilot license.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2015-11-10

TSB deploys a team of investigators to the site of an aircraft accident near the Parry Sound airport, Ontario
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A15O0188

Collision avec relief

L'événement

Le 9 novembre 2015, un Cessna 182H a quitté l'aéroport municipal de Parry Sound pour un vol de nuit vers Tillsonburg (Ontario). Juste après le décollage de la piste 35, l'aéronef a viré à gauche en direction de Tillsonburg. Il a été signalé que l'aéronef s'est écrasé dans les bois près de l'autoroute 400, à l'ouest de l'aéroport. L'appareil avait percuté des arbres en piqué, avec un angle d'inclinaison latérale considérable, touchant le sol sur une pente descendante rocailleuse. Les deux occupants ont été mortellement blessés; un incendie qui s'est déclaré après l'impact a détruit la plupart de l'aéronef.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Mario Boulet

Mario Boulet cumule plus de 30 années d'expérience en aviation civile. Il s'est joint au BST en 2015 et occupe maintenant le poste d'enquêteur principal régional à Dorval (Quebec).

Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Boulet a travaillé pendant 8 ans pour Transports Canada à titre d'inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation civile, après avoir fait carrière au sein de différents organismes de maintenance agréés, de constructeurs aéronautiques et de lignes aériennes, où il a occupé divers postes, tels que ceux de technicien en entretiens d'aéronefs, personne responsable de la maintenance (PRM) et représentant du Ministre pour un grand manufacturier aéronautique.

Depuis 2006, M. Boulet a également acquis une expertise dans la fabrication et l'exploitation de systèmes aériens sans pilotes (UAS).

M. Boulet est titulaire d'une licence de technicien d'entretien aéronautique de Transports Canada, ainsi que d'une licence de pilote privé.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Médias

Avis de déploiement
 
2015-11-10

Le BST envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs sur le site d'un accident aéronautique survenu près de l'aéroport de Parry Sound (Ontario)
Lire l'avis de déploiement