Air transportation safety investigation A15C0146

This investigation was completed 2 February 2017.

Table of contents

Collision with terrain

Oceanview Helicopters Ltd.
Hughes 369D (helicopter), C-FOHE
Paynton, Saskatchewan, 7 nm N

View final report

The occurrence

On 22 October 2015, an Oceanview Helicopters Ltd. Hughes 369D (registration C-FOHE, serial number 410942D) was conducting aerial work on power lines in the vicinity of Paynton, Saskatchewan, with the pilot and an external platform worker on board. At 1342 Central Standard Time, while installing a marker ball in a hover at approximately 325 feet above ground level, the helicopter experienced an engine failure, descended suddenly, and collided with the terrain. The pilot and external platform worker were fatally injured, and the helicopter was destroyed in a post-impact fire. The emergency locator transmitter activated on impact, but was destroyed by the post-impact fire.

Media materials

News release

2017-02-02

Engine failure at low altitude led to fatal October 2015 helicopter crash near Paynton, Saskatchewan
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2015-10-22

TSB will be deploying a team of investigators to a helicopter accident near Paynton, Saskatchewan

Winnipeg, Manitoba, 22 October 2015 - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) will be deploying a team of investigators to the site of a helicopter accident near Paynton, Saskatchewan. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Eckhard Dittbrenner

Eckhard Dittbrenner has more than 35 years of civil aviation experience and joined the TSB in 1999. Prior to joining the TSB, he worked as an aircraft technician for a commuter airline and worked for Transport Canada Aviation Enforcement for eight years. Since joining the TSB, Mr. Dittbrenner participated in several TSB investigations, including the investigation into the 2005 Air France accident at Pearson Airport in Toronto.


Photos

  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête de sécurité du transport aérien A15C0146

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 2 février 2017.

Table des matiéres

Panne de moteur et collision avec le relief

Oceanview Helicopters Ltd.
Hughes 369D (hélicoptère), C-FOHE
7 nm au nord de Paynton (Saskatchewan)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un Hughes 369D (immatriculé C-FOHE, numéro de série 410942D) exploité par Oceanview Helicopters Ltd. effectuait du travail aérien sur des lignes électriques, avec le pilote et un lignard à bord, près de Paynton (Saskatchewan). À 13 h 42, heure normale du Centre, alors qu'il était en vol stationnaire à environ 325 pieds au-dessus du sol pour installer une balise sphérique, l'hélicoptère a subi une panne de moteur, a soudainement commencé à descendre, et a percuté le relief. Le pilote et le lignard ont été mortellement blessés, et l'hélicoptère a été détruit dans l'incendie après impact. La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence s'est déclenchée au moment de l'impact, mais a été détruite dans l'incendie subséquent.

Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2017-02-02

Une panne de moteur à faible altitude a provoqué l’écrasement mortel d’un hélicoptère en octobre 2015 près de Paynton (Saskatchewan)
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2015-10-22

Le BST enverra une équipe d’enquêteurs à un accident d’hélicoptère près de Paynton (Saskatchewan)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) enverra une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un accident d’hélicoptère survenu près de Paynton (Saskatchewan). Le BST va recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Eckhard Dittbrenner a plus de 35 années d'expérience en aviation civile, et s'est joint au BST en 1999. Avant son arrivée au BST, il a travaillé comme technicien d'aéronef pour une entreprise de transport aérien régional, ainsi que pour Transports Canada en Application de la loi en aviation, pendant huit ans. Depuis qu'il s'est joint au BST, M. Dittbrenner a participé à plusieurs enquêtes du BST, y compris l'enquête sur l'accident mettant en cause Air France à l'aéroport Pearson de Toronto en 2005.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 3. Ces enquêtes sont des études d’un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité et sont parfois accompagnées de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: