Aviation Investigation A15C0130

Collision with terrain

The occurrence

On 8 September 2015, at approximately 2000 Eastern daylight time, a C-GZFX Robinson R44 helicopter had departed a camp on Horwood Lake, Ontario, for a forestry camp near Rollo Lake, Ontario. The 15 mile flight should have taken approximately 10 minutes, however the helicopter did not arrive at its intended destination. Search and rescue operations were initiated the following day, when it was discovered that the helicopter was missing. On 11 September 2015, the aircraft was discovered approximately 17 nautical miles south of Foleyet, Ontario. The aircraft collided with terrain and the aircraft was destroyed. The two occupants sustained fatal injuries. The TSB is investigating.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Ross Peden

Ross Peden has 35 years of civil aviation experience. He joined the TSB in September 2001 as a Flight Operations investigator in the TSB central region office in Winnipeg Manitoba. Prior to joining the TSB, he worked as an airline pilot for different Canadian and foreign carriers, which included a 4 year stint in Sudan Africa and 3 years in Paris France. During that time, he flew different aircraft types, starting on small bush aircraft and eventually finishing commercial career on large jet aircraft. In 1996 he joined Transport Canada, as an Instrument procedures specialist, followed by a period with what was then called system safety.

Since joining the TSB, Mr. Peden has participated in several TSB investigations, including the 2005 Air France accident at Pearson Airport in Toronto.

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2015-09-11

TSB deploying a team of investigators to a helicopter accident near Foleyet, Ontario
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A15C0130

Collision avec relief

L'événement

Le 8 septembre 2015, vers 20 h, heure avancée de l’Est, un hélicoptère Robinson R44 C-GZFX a décollé d’un camp au lac Horwood (Ontario), en direction d’un camp forestier situé près du lac Rollo (Ontario). Le vol de 15 milles devait durer environ 10 minutes, mais l’hélicoptère ne s’est pas rendu à destination. Des opérations de recherche et sauvetage ont été lancées le lendemain, lorsque l’on s’est aperçu que l’aéronef était manquant. Le 11 septembre 2015, l’aéronef a été découvert à environ 17 milles nautiques au sud de Foleyet (Ontario). L’aéronef a été détruit par suite d’une collision avec le relief. Les deux occupants avaient subi des blessures mortelles. Le BST mène une enquête.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Ross Peden

Ross Peden possède 35 ans d'expérience en aviation civile. Il s'est joint au BST en septembre 2001 à titre d'enquêteur des opérations aériennes au bureau de la région du centre du BST à Winnipeg, au Manitoba. Avant de faire partie du BST, il a travaillé comme pilote de ligne pour différents transporteurs canadiens et étrangers, y compris quatre années au Soudan, en Afrique et trois ans à Paris, en France. Pendant cette période, il a été aux commandes de différents types d'aéronefs, en commençant par de petits avions de brousse et en terminant sa carrière commerciale avec de grands avions à réaction. En 1996, il s'est joint à Transports Canada à titre de spécialiste du vol aux instruments, suivi d'une période avec ce que l'on appelait à l'époque la Sécurité du système.

Depuis ses débuts avec le BST, M. Peden a pris part à plusieurs enquêtes, y compris l'accident d'Air France à l'aéroport Pearson de Toronto en 2005.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Médias

Avis de déploiement
 
2015-09-11

Le BST dépêche une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un accident d’hélicoptère survenu près de Foleyet (Ontario)
Lire l'avis de déploiement