Aviation Investigation A12Q0216

Landing accident at Sanikiluaq Airport in Nunavut

The occurrence

Perimeter Aviation Flight 993 was originally scheduled to depart Winnipeg, Manitoba, for Sanikiluaq, Nunavut, on the morning of December 22, 2012, but several issues, including repairs to the cargo door, caused a four-hour delay. After finally taking off, the crew realized they'd forgotten key published information for the approach and landing at Sanikiluaq. Rather than return to Winnipeg and lengthen the flight, the captain radioed the company to obtain most of the required information.

The crew's initial plan was to come in on a straight-in visual approach to land eastbound, into the wind on Runway 09 at Sanikiluaq. Weather conditions, however, did not permit this. As there was no published instrument approach procedure for Runway 09, they used the published procedure for Runway 27 and circled around visually to land on Runway 09, as wind favored landing in that direction. But visibility was insufficient, so they circled a second time, only to once more lose sight of the runway.

En route, a weather update had revealed that the alternate destination of Kuujjuarapik was no longer feasible. Since the weather was still technically acceptable for landing, the crew decided to continueFootnote 1 attempting to land at Sanikiluaq. With the crew feeling increasing pressure to land, there was an increase in stress, workload, frustration and fatigue, resulting in attentional narrowing and a breakdown in crew communication. They made a second attempt, this time to land westbound on Runway 27. A tailwind, however, increased the aircraft's groundspeed, and they came in too high, too steep, and too fast, sighting the runway later than expected. By the time the captain decided to reject the landing it was too late, and the aircraft struck the ground. This is considered an approach-and-landing accident.

Read the complete Executive summary

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Gayle Conners

Gayle Conners graduated from the University of Ottawa, obtaining a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology in 1985. Ms. Conners obtained her commercial helicopter pilot’s license from Canadore College in North Bay, Ontario in 1986. She flew for a commercial helicopter operator in northern Quebec prior to joining the Transportation Safety Board (TSB), with over 4000 hours of helicopter flying experience. She also holds single-engine fixed-wing aircraft and glider pilot licenses. Most of her fixed-wing aircraft experience was obtained while towing gliders for the Air Cadets’ glider school.

Ms. Conners has been employed with the TSB Montreal regional office for 23 years, initially working as a Human Performance Specialist/Investigator, then as a Senior Investigator Operations (Air). She has been the investigator-in-charge of many occurrences over the years spent with the TSB.

Photos

View photos

Click on the images to see them in full size.

See more high resolution pictures on the TSB Flickr page.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation
  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Report

Executive summary
Final report
2015-06-29

Aviation Investigation Report A12Q0216
Low-energy rejected landing and collision with terrain
Perimeter Aviation LP
Fairchild SA227-AC Metro III, C-GFWX
Sanikiluaq, Nunavut
22 December 2012

Safety communications

Recommendations
2015-06-29

TSB Recommendation A15-01: The Board recommends that the Department of Transport require commercial air carriers to collect and report, on a routine basis, the number of infants (under 2 years old), including lap-held, and young children (2 to 12 years old) travelling.

2015-06-29

TSB Recommendation A15-02: The Board recommends that the Department of Transport work with industry to develop age- and size-appropriate child restraint systems for infants and young children travelling on commercial aircraft, and mandate their use to provide an equivalent level of safety compared to adults.

Media materials

News releases
2015-06-29

December 2012 accident in Sanikiluaq, Nunavut, highlights need for improved safety for infants and children onboard aircraft
Read the news release

2012-12-23

TSB is investigating an accident at Sanikiluaq Airport in Nunavut
Read the news release

Backgrounders
Speeches
2015-06-29

News conference for the release of Aviation Investigation Report A12Q0216: Opening remarks
Kathy Fox, TSB Chair
Gayle Conners, TSB Investigator-in-Charge
Read the opening remarks

Media advisories
2015-06-25

TSB will hold a news conference on its report into the December 2012 Perimeter Aviation aircraft accident in Sanikiluaq, Nunavut
Read the media advisory

Video and audio materials

Animations
2015-06-29

A12Q0216: Apparent weight of a lap-held infant
Watch the animation

Other resources

Information on travelling with young children

Enquête aéronautique A12Q0216

Accident lors d'un atterrissage à l'aéroport de Sanikiluaq (Nunavut)

L'événement

Le vol 993 de Perimeter Aviation devait à l'origine décoller de Winnipeg (Manitoba) à destination de Sanikiluaq (Nunavut) le matin du 22 décembre 2012, mais plusieurs anomalies, y compris la réparation à la porte cargo, ont entraîné un retard de quatre heures. Après avoir enfin décollé, l'équipage de conduite s'est rendu compte qu'il avait oublié d'importants documents publiés nécessaires pour l'approche et l'atterrissage à Sanikiluaq. Plutôt que de retourner à Winnipeg et de prolonger le vol, le commandant de bord a communiqué par radio avec l'entreprise pour obtenir la plupart des renseignements nécessaires.

Le plan initial de l'équipage de conduite était d'exécuter une approche visuelle directe pour atterrir en direction est, par vent debout, sur la piste 09 à Sanikiluaq. Les conditions météorologiques n'ont toutefois pas permis une telle approche. Étant donné qu'il n'y avait aucune procédure publiée d'approche aux instruments de la piste 09, l'équipage a utilisé la procédure publiée pour la piste 27 et a effectué une approche visuelle indirecte pour atterrir sur la piste 09, car le vent favorisait l'atterrissage dans cette direction. Sous une visibilité insuffisante, l'équipage a effectué une deuxième approche indirecte, mais a perdu une fois de plus le contact visuel avec la piste.

En route, une mise à jour météorologique avait appris à l'équipage qu'un déroutement vers l'aéroport de dégagement à Kuujjuarapik était dorénavant impossible. Puisque les conditions météorologiques étaient toujours techniquement acceptables pour atterrir, l'équipage a décidé de continuer ses tentatives d'atterrissage à Sanikiluaq. L'équipage ressentait une pression croissante pour atterrir, pression qui n'a fait qu'accroître le stress, la charge de travail, la frustration et la fatigue de l'équipage, ce qui a entraîné une diminution de son attention et détérioré la communication.

Lire le résumé en entier

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Gayle Conners

Gayle Conners a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en psychologie à l'Université d'Ottawa en 1985. Elle a également obtenu, en 1986, sa licence de pilote d'hélicoptère du Canadore College, à North Bay, en Ontario. Avant d'entrer au service du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST), elle a accumulé plus de 4000 heures de vol comme pilote d'hélicoptère pour un exploitant commercial dans le nord du Québec. Elle est aussi titulaire de licences de pilote d'aéronefs monomoteurs à voilure fixe et de planeur. Elle a principalement acquis son expérience en pilotage d'aéronefs à voilure en remorquant des planeurs à l'école de planeurs des Cadets de l'Air.

Mme Conners travaille au bureau régional du BST à Montréal depuis 23 ans, pendant lesquels elle a d'abord occupé le poste de spécialiste des facteurs humains/enquêteure, puis d'enquêteure principale régionale, Opérations (Air). Pendant sa carrière au BST, elle a été enquêteure désignée pour de nombreux événements.

Photos

Voir les photos

Cliquez sur les images pour les voir en taille réelle.

Lien à la page Flickr

Voir des photos en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Le processus d'enquête du BST

Les enquêtes du BST se déroulent en 3 étapes
  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape du production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'elles jugent erronée. Le Bureau considère toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Rapport

Résumé
Rapport final
2015-06-29

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A12Q0216
Atterrissage interrompu à bas régime et collision avec le relief
Perimeter Aviation LP
Fairchild SA227-AC Metro III, C-GFWX
Sanikiluaq (Nunavut)
le

Communications en matière de sécurité

Recommandations
2015-06-29

Recommandation A15-01 du BST : Le Bureau recommande que le ministère des Transports exige des transporteurs aériens commerciaux de dénombrer et de déclarer périodiquement le nombre de bébés (âgés de moins de 2 ans), y compris ceux assis sur les genoux, et de jeunes enfants (âgés de 2 à 12 ans) à bord des aéronefs.

2015-06-29

Recommandation A15-01 du BST : Le Bureau recommande que le ministère des Transports travaille avec l'industrie pour mettre au point des ensembles de retenue convenant à l'âge et à la taille des bébés et des jeunes enfants voyageant à bord d'aéronefs commerciaux et qu'il en oblige l'utilisation afin d'assurer un niveau de sécurité équivalent à celui des adultes.

Ressources pour les médias

Communiqués
2015-06-29

Un accident à Sanikiluaq, au Nunavut, en décembre 2012 souligne la nécessité d'une sécurité accrue pour les bébés et enfants à bord d'aéronefs
Lire le communiqué

2012-12-23

Le BST enquête un accident survenu à l'aéroport Sanikiluaq au Nunavut
Lire le communiqué

Documents d'information
Discours
2015-06-29

Publication du rapport d'enquête aéronautique A12Q0216
Kathy Fox, Présidente du BST
et
Gayle Conners, Enquêteur désigné du BST
Lire le mot d'ouverture

Avis aux médias
2015-06-25

Le BST tiendra une conférence de presse sur son enquête sur l’accident de l’aéronef de Perimeter Aviation survenu en décembre 2012 à Sanikiluaq (Nunavut)
Lire l'avis aux médias

Ressources vidéo et audio

Animation
2015-06-29

A12Q0216 : Poids apparent d'un jeune enfant assis sur les genoux d'un adulte
Regarder l'animation

Autre resources

Comment voyager avec des enfants