2016-2017 Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Transportation Safety Board of Canada for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2017. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are for the most part directly related to supporting departmental mandates and the government's priorities. The mandate of the Transportation Safety Board is to advance transportation safety. This mandate is fulfilled by conducting independent investigations into selected transportation occurrences to identify the causes and contributing factors of the occurrences and the underlying safety deficiencies.

The jurisdiction of the TSB includes all aviation, marine, rail and pipeline transportation occurrences in or over Canada that fall under federal jurisdiction. The TSB may also represent Canadian interests in foreign investigations of transportation accidents involving Canadian registered, licensed or manufactured aircraft, ships or railway rolling stock. The department's travel expenditures are primarily dependent on the frequency and location of transportation occurrences.  Travel expenditures are also incurred by the TSB for employees to attend training in their field of expertise. The credibility and success of the TSB depend on its ability to develop and maintain a competent and diverse professional workforce. Given the international nature of transportation, training and conferences on topics relevant to transportation safety are primarily held outside of Canada and travel costs are required in order to attend.

The TSB endeavors to minimize hospitality expenses to the extent possible. Expenses are primarily incurred by the TSB as a result of the requirement for employees to work through normal break or meal periods due to operations or business meetings. On an occasional basis, the TSB will host events and conferences directly related to the department's mandate whereby hospitality costs may also be incurred.

The TSB occasionally incurs expenses to host conferences. Conference expenses generally represent conference registration fees where a TSB employee has participated as an official representative of the organization or has presented on a subject relevant to the department's mandate. As per the Treasury Board Secretariat reporting requirements, expenditures to attend conferences where the primary purpose is to enable participants to maintain or acquire skills or knowledge are not reported as conference expenses but rather as training.

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Transportation Safety Board are summarized below:

Expenditure category Expenditures for the year ending March 31 2017
(a)
(in thousands of dollars)
Expenditures for the year ending March 31 2016
(b)
(in thousands of dollars)
Variance
(a-b)
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel - Public Servants $1,050 $822 $+228
Travel - Non-public servants $11 $11 $-
Total Travel $ 1,061 $ 833 $ +228
Hospitality $ 11 $ 19 $ -8
Conference Fees $ 12 $ 12 $ -
TOTAL $ 1,084 $ 864 $ +220

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

Travel:

A. Public Servants:  Travel expenditures by TSB employees increased by 228K between years, this represents a 27% increase due to travel related to occurrences, Outreach activities and departmental Branch meetings.

B. Non-Public Servants: Travel by non-public servants relates to expenditures incurred by consultants performing services for TSB. Generally, spending in this category of travel is minimal; as a result, a single event can present a significant percentage variance between years. Fiscal year 2016-17 showed no variance when compared to 2015-16.

Hospitality:

Typically, spending on hospitality expenditures is minimal; as a result, a single event can present a significant percentage variance between years. The decrease is explained by hospitality incurred for the America's Marine Accident Investigators' Forum hosted by the TSB in Ottawa, Ontario in fiscal year 2015-16.

Conferences Fees:

Spending in this category relates to conference fees incurred by TSB employees and Board Members who served as official TSB representatives to speak at various conferences. When possible, the TSB tries to arrange for its representatives to participate in the full conferences on a complimentary basis given their role as speakers on the conference program.  However, host organizations are not always agreeable to such arrangements and may charge registration fees for participation to the full program. There was no variance between fiscal years 2016-17 and 2015-16.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences 2016-2017

Comme l'exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l'information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017.  Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l'exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'informationou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et organismes fédéraux appuient directement, pour la plupart, le mandat ministériel et les priorités gouvernementales. Le mandat du Bureau de la sécurité des transports est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Ce mandat est accompli en menant des enquêtes indépendantes sur les événements de transport choisis pour identifier les causes et les facteurs contributifs ainsi que les manquements à la sécurité sous-jacente.

La compétence du BST s'étend à tous les événements  aéronautiques, maritimes, ferroviaires et les événements du transport par pipeline au Canada ou à l'extérieur de celui-ci qui relèvent de la compétence fédérale. Le BST peut également représenter les intérêts des canadiens dans les enquêtes étrangères sur les accidents de transports impliquant des aéronefs, des navires ou le matériel roulant immatriculés, sous licence ou fabriqués au Canada. Les dépenses de voyages du ministère sont essentiellement dépendantes de la fréquence et de la localisation des événements de transports. Les dépenses de voyages sont également assumées par le BST pour la formation des employés dans leur domaine d'expertise. La crédibilité et le succès du BST reposent sur sa capacité à développer et maintenir un effectif professionnel compétent et diversifié. Étant donné la nature internationale du transport, de formation et des conférences sur des sujets pertinents à la sécurité des transports qui ont souvent lieu à l'extérieur du Canada, des frais de voyage sont nécessaires afin d'y assister.

Le BST s'efforce de minimiser les dépenses d'accueil dans la mesure du possible. Les dépenses sont principalement assumées par le BST en raison de l'exigence pour les employés à travailler par le biais de pause normale ou de périodes de repas en raison d'opérations ou de réunions d'affaires. Le BST organise parfois des événements et conférences liés directement au mandat du ministère selon lequel des frais d'accueil peuvent aussi être encourus.

Le BST encourt parfois des dépenses pour organiser des conférences. Les dépenses de conférences représentent généralement les frais d'inscription aux congrès lorsqu' un employé du BST participe en tant que représentant officiel de l'organisation ou présente un sujet  connexe au mandat du ministère. Conformément aux exigences de production de rapport du  Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, les dépenses pour assister à des conférences où le but principal est de permettre aux participants de maintenir, d'acquérir des habiletés ou des connaissances ne sont pas présentées comme les dépenses de conférences, mais plutôt comme les dépenses de formations.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sont résumées ci-dessous :

Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017
(a)
(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses pour l'exercice précédent se terminant le 31 mars 2016
(b)
(en milliers de dollars)
Écart
(a-b)
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages - Fonctionnaires 1 050 $ 822 $ +228 $
Voyages - Non-fonctionnaires 11 $ 11 $ - $
Total des dépenses de voyages 1 061 $ 833 $ +228 $
Accueil 11 $ 19 $ -8 $
Frais de participation aux conférences 12 $ 12 $ - $
TOTAL 1 084 $ 864 $ +220 $

Écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent

Voyage :

A. Fonctionnaires : Les dépenses de voyages ont augmenté de 228 $ milliers de dollars entre les années ce qui représente 27 %  d'augmentation en raison des déplacements liés aux événements, aux activités de sensibilisation et aux réunions ministérielles des directions.

B. Non-fonctionnaires : Les dépenses de voyages engagées par les non-fonctionnaires  proviennent des dépenses des consultants fournissant des services pour le BST. En général, les dépenses de cette catégorie de voyage sont minimes; par conséquent, un seul événement peut causer un écart de pourcentage significatif entre les années. L'exercice financier 2016-2017 ne démontre aucun écart par rapport à l'année financière 2015-2016.

Accueil :

Généralement, les frais d'accueil sont minimes; par conséquent, un seul événement peut causer un écart de pourcentage significatif entre les années. La diminution des dépenses  est attribuable aux frais d'accueil encourus lors du forum des enquêteurs sur les accidents maritimes des Amériques organisé par le BST à Ottawa, en Ontario dans l'année financière 2015-2016.

Frais de participation aux conférences :

Les dépenses dans cette catégorie se rapportent aux frais de conférences encourus par les employés du BST et les membres du Bureau qui ont présenté à diverses conférences en tant que représentants du BST. Lorsqu'il est possible, le BST essaie d'accommoder ses représentants afin que ceux-ci puissent assister à des conférences complètes sans frais, étant donné leur rôle en tant que conférencier. Cependant, les organisations hôtes ne sont pas toujours d'accord avec ces arrangements et peuvent imposer des frais d'inscription pour assister à des conférences complètes. Il n'y avait pas d'écart entre l'exercice 2016-2017 et 2015-2016.